A story about these football stories

In the mid-2000s, after years of working as newspaper journalist, I was commissioned to write a book. The purpose of the book was to tell the story of how the East German football team controversially beat their West German rivals in World Cup 1974. Bundesarchiv_Bild_183-N0615-0011,_X._Fußball-WM,_DDR-Nationalmannschaft

Unfortunately for me, mid-way through the project, my commission was cancelled following the financial crash of 2007, which apparently threw the publishing world into chaos (along with everything else). I carried on with the work to try to bring it to some kind of conclusion, but, alas, I could not convince a publisher that this was a story worth telling. These stories from players, pundits and fans have been sitting on my computer since my children were born 8 years ago. I am not longer a journalist. This is just a hobby. However the interviews and data were gathered professionally, with times and dates. I spent months touring Germany collecting them. They have been sitting on my computer unread for too long. Now I’m going to share them. Unlike my book, there will be no order to the stories, just interesting stories from the archive as and when…

Leave a comment